Our first mosaic/collage/assemblage artist has joined the Inspired Art Project!  Judy Pendleton will be creating a mosaic for the poem “Goodbye” by Kenia M.  

Below is a statement from the artist:

“I grew up in Pittsburgh, PA and have always been drawn to patterns and textures…bits of coal in the snow, flagstones on a patio, the way beads were strung in patterns, abstract patterns in clothing, magazine art. Throughout school I would choose any activity that allowed me to make posters or murals or design and produce floats or costumes. An Allegheny College art appreciation survey course opened my eyes to the world of fine arts.

It was at an art museum open house in Florida where I first encountered a mosaic-tiled bathroom sink with broken black tiles set in black grout accented with gold fixtues, made by a local artist, Michelle Petno. After my first class with Michelle, I was hooked and went on to take six more classes with her, selling my work in student art shows to help finance my new hobby! In Arizona, I began collecting shards and stones, and using my husband’s cast off stained glass bits to make desert scenes in mosaic and used handmade papers in western scenic collages. I attended my first convention of SAMA, the Society of American Mosaic Artists in 2007 and saw my first completely mosaic art gallery show featuring internationally acclaimed mosaic artists at the Mesa Center for the Performing Arts Gallery. Participants in the convention, inlcuding me, helped to prepare a large public mosaic mural.

Since moving to Colorado, I set up my Shadyside Studio and joined the Parker Artists Guild which provides venues for both showing and selling art. Recently my collage of the Superstition Mountains and wildflowers of Arizona won Best of Category in Mixed Media in the Parker Art Guild’s 2008 Spring Show.”

The artwork of Judy is truly incredible, and I invite you to visit her website at http://www.pendletonartworks.com/.

